ONE week until Israel!

If you know me even a little bit, you know that I am a planner. I have attempted to plan out as much of my life to the best of my ability. Mental and physical to-do lists and timelines (with help from my moleskine weekly, 18th month, extra large, black, soft cover planner) have helped me stay on track. Checking things off of my to-do list gives me great pleasure. So today, as I write my first blog post of the semester, I am delighted to mentally be drawing a straight and bold line through the bullet on my “life- long” to-do list that reads: STUDY ABROAD IN ISRAEL.

For as long as I can remember, I have planned on studying abroad in Israel. During my college search, it was a must have for the school I would someday attend to have a program with a university in Israel. To my advantage, Indiana University has an incredible and unique relationship with Hebrew University in Jerusalem. On January 20, I will land in the holy land and start what I know will be not only a wonderful semester, but also a once in a lifetime experience studying, learning, and enjoying everything Israel.

While I have loved reading blogs from other friends who have studied abroad, I was not sure if I wanted to write my own. However, it has been requested time and time again from my one and only mother that I share some stories through the means of a blog. Again, if you know me at all, you know that I talk to my mom several times a day and being in Israel will be no exception (even with a seven hour time difference- no worries, dad, I won’t wake you up at 3am…). So, as I continued to contemplate whether or not to write a blog, I decided that this upcoming semester would not be at all possible if it were not for my loving and supportive parents. I cannot possibly thank them enough for everything they have done and will do for me as I begin this next journey. Therefore, I have decided to please my mom, and attempt to keep up with a blog- even if she will already know what has happened hours, if not days, before it is posted online for her reading pleasure.

So as I sit in my frequent coffee hot spot and sip on one of my last Starbucks soy (no foam) lattes, I invite you to join my parents and read some stories about my time abroad. It still has not hit me that the semester I have been dreaming about for years will soon come to life. After saying way too many goodbyes in December (that still have not sunk in) and now at the conclusion of my stellar winter break, it is hard to believe I am not at IU starting spring semester today. But, as soon as I start packing five months of clothes into two suitcases (both under 50lbs), my dream will become my reality.

Thank you to all of my friends and family for all of your help, support, advice, and words of wisdom that you have already given me. I apologize in advance for all the grammar and spelling errors that will be made in this blog. I can only hope that I become so fluent in Hebrew that I forget proper English. Best of luck to everyone this semester and please keep in touch! I can’t wait to hear about your spring semesters and live vicariously through all you Hoosiers during some of my favorite spring events such as IU basketball, ADPi Diamond Sister Reveal, Hillel’s Israelpalooza, and of course, Little 500 (just kidding…).

Well, that’s all for now…time to pack! Have a great Monday, everyone! xoxo

11 thoughts on “ONE week until Israel!

  1. Cant wait to hear all about what I have no doubt will be your best trip to the eretz yet!

  2. Beautiful, its going to be amazing
    I’m so happy for you
    S

  3. Amanda- I am so excited for you!! You are going to have an awesome time! You are going to be so happy that you wrote down everything in a blog when you finish the trip, as you will never be able to go back and write everything that you did!!! Safe travels!! Kathy

  4. We look forward to reading about your exciting adventure!!!!!!! Be healthy and safe! Love, The Lopatas

  5. Love you very much and will be thinking of you every day on your new journey. Be safe and talk to you soon!!!

  6. Enjoy the Slurpee; they don’t have any on the kibbutz.

  7. Wishing you a wonderful and enriching time in Israel…..looking forward to spending time with you in mid-March!

  8. Anxious to hear all about your trip and so happy for you…..big adventure…and amazing opportunity. Be happy…..share your stories as often as possible …Xoxoxo

  9. Pooh, can’t wait until you are settled and have some Internet. I love talking to you daily but can’t wait to read your blog. See you soon

  10. Have your most excellent adventure. Be safe and have a great time.
    Cheryl

  11. Amanda it’s wonderful reading your blog- makes me miss Israel but at the same time I can close my eyes and really experience it with you. Enjoy today tomorrow and more …

Leave a Reply

